Skip to content

Now I know my ㅏ, ㅂ, ㅊs! Next time won’t you sing with me?

Ugh. I wish HCB would guest post already! He’s called dibs on the biggest pre-Korea, stress-related crisis. This mystery event has tainted the leaving process, but – Hallelujah! – everything has been resolved and in the best possible way. So yeah. Chop chop, HCB. I can’t account for my reversal in mood until you tell your story!

Psht. What, right now, could possibly be more important than my blog?

Barring that story, all I’m left with is the Korean language. Yesterday, I gave my credit card a work out over at the RosettaStone kiosk. before I arrived, the guy stationed was not happy. 6:30PM on a Monday. Open air mall. January. Not happy. I can’t imagine, for how boring and chilly that job must be, the he gets many sales. Hopefully my $400 went some way to improving his evening.

So yeah. Right now, RosettaStone is sitting safe and unopened on my desk, staring at me with its big accusatory eyes. Shouldn’t you have bought me a week ago? You’re leaving in 30 days! Shut up.

Better late than never, I suppose. Before I start the program, I need to learn the alphabet. Apparently, to attain its breakneck learning curve RosettaStone sacrifices, you know, the ENTIRE WRITTEN LANGUAGE. Had I gotten on this 3 months ago, I could probably have worked it out as I went along, but something tells me that, with boots on the ground, I’ll need the written language pretty quickly.  Time to make some flashcards. Until I have knowledge of my own, let me quote a passage from Wikipedia:

“Grammatical morphemes may change shape depending on the preceding sounds. Examples include -eun/-neun (-은/-는) and -i/-ga (-이/-가). Sometimes sounds may be inserted instead. Examples include -eul/-reul (-을/-를), -euro/-ro (-으로/-로), -eseo/-seo (-에서/-서), -ideunji/-deunji(-이든지/-든지) and -iya/-ya (-이야/-야). However, -euro/-ro is somewhat irregular, since it will behave differently after a rieul consonant.”

[Update: Oh my God. I would very much like, please, to be learning Spanish, please. The vowels. And the consonants. Oh my God.]

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I just can’t even.

    I mean, instead of letters they have little picture things. What the crap?

    January 18, 2012
    • The written language was developed in 1444 by King Sejong the Great. His intention was for the letters themselves to imitate the shape of the lips, throat or tongue when making the sound the letters represent. Neato, right? Try making this shape with your mouth: ㄹ. Somehow it doesn’t result in an “l”/”r” sound…

      January 18, 2012

Join in!

