Skip to content

The Korean Military: Now with more snow and fewer shirts!

Abrupt Departure, Abercrombie and Fitch, Parody, Seoul, Korea

I have been told that living in Seoul will be a whole other thing when it comes to the military’s presence in daily life. Those of you in either DC or NYC might not find it notable, but for a Californian like me, security guards with AK-47 are attention-grabbing. At some point, a post will turn up here that addresses the psychic repercussions of living in a country that is at war with its border-mate, but that won’t happen until I get a chance to take surreptitious photos of G.I. Joe on the metro. (Do you think that’ll get me put in jail? I mean, I’ll be subtle about it, but if I’m too stealthy they might think I’m a spy for North Korea. ‘Cause, you know, I’m just naturally covert enough that professionals could mistake me for a trained operative.) Consider this post to be a lighthearted amuse-bouche to prime the pallet for a forthcoming post of greater substance:

Every year, the South Korean army stages a demonstration of military preparedness involving extreme cold and wilderness survival. Advanced conscripts are taken into the mountains in mid-January to toughen their endurance and stare down Kim Jung-il Kim Jung-un.

All effectively intimidating. I certainly won’t be engaging in mountain warfare with the South Koreans. But then there’s this…

Far be it from me to weigh in on military image-craft, but IMHO, that video makes the training for an elite fighting force look more like a senior class trip to Tahoe or an Abercrombie & Fitch ad if Abercrombie & Fitch hired Asian models:

A&F: Buy camouflage cargo pants

One Comment Post a comment
  1. My boyfriend has done his military service in Korea so I can appreciate this :)

    January 27, 2012

Join in!

