Skip to content

Water Buffalo Portraiture

Can you guess what my new favorite animal is?

Water buffalos are the awesomest, you guys. They’re basically just giant labrador retrievers with 18″ horns and four chambered stomachs. Plus, they don’t smell nearly as bad as you’d expect! These handsome ladies were just chillin’ by the side of the road, sunning themselves and being generally adorable. Will you think I’m weird if I admit I’ve done research about where in the US you can buy an Asian water buffalo? Because I have done that research.

She is unimpressed.

Hey, you! What the HELL are you doing with that camera?!?

Grrrrrr…

Hello.

They’re docile and sweet, and they plow your field in the spring and dispose of the crop stubble in the fall, all while producing a constant supply of fertilizer. Also, because they live 40 or 50 years, water buffalos basically end up as a part of the family, except they never pick fights. And just look at that FACE! Doesn’t that nose just demand scritch-scratches?

Now, here’s a photo of me sitting on a water buffalo:

Notice that I’m about to get water buffalo kisses!

I look so awkward in this photo not because I was nervous sitting on the water buffalo, but because what I really wanted to do was lean down and hug her. I didn’t go with my instincts because I was worried that the local villagers would laugh at me (more than they already were), but I regret that decision now. Next time I have the opportunity to hug a water buffalo, I’ll follow my heart.

I could’ve done that if I’d wanted to. I just chose not to show off. Because I’m humble.

This water buffalo acrobat was my guide in Sapa, so you’ll hear more about him later, but let’s leave it with this: he was exactly as awesome as this photo implies.

I’ll get back to more substantive posts, but my water buffalo friends were urgently cute.

Just look at them! Aaawwwwww.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. michael romano #

    My first reaction to these pics were that they were not for real . But too weird for there to be a fake water buffalo spot and even weirder for you to pass it off as legit. Adorable !!

    November 16, 2012
    • They’re the real deal. You guys could get one and keep it in the backyard.

      November 17, 2012
  2. Michele O'Brien #

    You look so great. I love that they are sweet animals, and you had a wonderful guild. He looks like lots of fun.

    November 17, 2012
  3. Michele O'Brien #

    Guide not guild

    November 17, 2012
  4. You are adorable like a water buffalo.

    November 17, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Vietnam, Part 1: Om Nom Nom | Abrupt Departure

Join in!

